Marino, Kingston Park & Seacliff have a rich history and are unique in the development of South Australia for many reasons. This section will link us up with our local resources and feature stories and research by local residents:
map c 1919-20
1919 Brighton Cement Works Power house
Brighton cement works erected this monument to commemorate the fallen soldiers in WW1
BECOME A “ROADS” SCHOLAR: #1 Scholefield Road by Harry Owen
The Scholefield Road story begins in 1343 in the north of England with the first recorded use ofScholefeld as a family name.A geographical feature near where someone lived has often been used to provide a family name and in Old English aSchole is a hut and a Feld is meadow or pasture. Over time different spellings of the name have appeared including Schofield and Scholefield.
In 1905The Register reported that the SA Portland Cement Company had appointed Mr Frank Sykes Scholefield to manage the Brighton Cement Works in Marino. At this time the cement was transported by road but it was hoped it would be transported by rail when the line to Marino was constructed. Unfortunately the Rail Commissionersand the Company couldn’t agree on funding for a private siding so a road was made to connect the works to Marino station. This road was called Scholefield Road.A map from around 1920 showing Scholefield Road connecting the cement works and Marino station in on the MRA website. In 1922 the SA Portland Cement Company sold some land for a housing development and Scholefield Road became the gateway to Marino.
The full article on this follows as a PDF, if you have any thoughts or further information please contact us: